Photo ANP/Robin Utrecht

On 24 May 2018, the JIT announced that it had come to the conclusion that the BUK-TELAR that was used to down flight MH17 originates from the 53rd Anti-Aircraft Missile Brigade from Kursk in the Russian Federation.

Immediately after this announcement, France and the United Kingdom, among others, called on the Russian Federation to fully cooperate with the investigation. After that, even more countries and organisations expressed their support. Below a concise overview of the reports.

Press conference 24 may 2018

On 25 May 2018, the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands and Australia formally held Russia responsible for its share in the downing of flight MH17.

At the end of May 2018, NATO Secretary General J. Stoltenberg called on Russia to assume responsibility for the crash.

On 15 July 2018, the Foreign Ministers of the G7 countries issued a joint statement calling on Russia to immediately consult with the Netherlands and Australia and to clarify possible violations of international law.

On 26 September 2018, at the United Nations General Assembly in New York, the Foreign Ministers of all JIT countries expressed their unconditional support for the independent criminal investigation.